Share This


56th Annual Delta Exhibition

June 27 - September 28, 2014

David Bailin, American (Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 1954), Slippage, 2014, charcoal, oil, pastel and coffee on prepared paper, Courtesy of the artist, 2014 Grand Award.

The Delta Exhibition of Painting and Sculpture was founded in 1956 to feature contemporary work by artists from Arkansas and bordering states. Today, the 56th Annual Delta Exhibition has grown to encompass works in all media and is one of the most anticipated Arkansas Arts Center exhibitions of the year. It provides a unique snapshot of the artists from the Mississippi Delta region and a glimpse into the contemporary art scene.

“The most soulful and honest works of art usually begin with a local footprint, a tether connecting many parts to one heat source, one place, in order to explore a broader panoply of ideas,” said guest juror Brian Rutenberg. “With over 1,300 images from 468 artists, this was certainly the most challenging exhibition I’ve ever juried.”

Artists awarded in the 56th Annual Delta Exhibition include:

Grand Award

David Bailin Slippage

Delta Awards

Robin Tucker Grace and Faith (I Remember It Al)
Jeff Sharp Tread Lightly

Honorable Mentions

Vera Barnett Yellow Chair
Andrew Blanchard County Line/Urban Limit II
Jessica Camp Weeping Lamentation
Daniel Cassity The Wizard's Wand
Angela Davis Johnson Gathering: From Childhood to Reality
Beth Edwards Hydrangea II
DebyLynn Fendley Crystal Bridges
Ted Grimett Fire Station No.2
Phillip Jackson Transitory Reflections: Tangerine and Apples
Jed Jackson In France
Kandy Jones Funny Face
William Killebrew New Earrings
Trent Lawson Victory Leading the Coneheads
Mark Lewis Boston Avenue
Ian Park Visiting Grandma Agatha
Robert Reep Atomic Tech
Cathryn Slater Buttwhackers
Charles Steiner Fort Smith Study#7

Contemporaries Delta Award

Andrew Blanchard County Line/Urban Limit II

Contemporaries Honorable Mentions

Jessica Camp Weeping Lamentation
Phillip Jackson Transitory Reflections: Tangerine and Apples

Sponsored by

Harriet and Warren Stephens, Stephens Inc.


Stone Ward


Landers FIAT


Fleming Electric

Noble Strategies

Bailey Foundation


The Grand Award is supported by The John William Linn Endowment Fund.

The exhibition is supported by the Andre Simon Memorial Trust in memory of everyone who has died of acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS).

Hours: Tues - Sat 10 AM - 5 PM | Sun 11 AM - 5 PM      Address: 9th & Commerce / MacArthur Park, P.O. Box 2137, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-2137      Phone: 501.372.4000

© Copyright 2013 Arkansas Arts Center.
All rights reserved. All text and images are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without written permission from their respective owners.